top of page

Roundtable with Senator Al Franken


Today I had the privilege of being invited by the Minnesota Network of Hospice and Palliative Care to be a part of a roundtable discussion with Minnesota Senator Al Franken. This gathering of professionals was an opportunity to thank Senator Franken for his strong support of hospice, share some of the local issues being faced within these fields, and invite him to expand his support into palliative care.

I was one of twelve people at the table with over 40 in attendance. At the table, I was the only person who did not hold a "position" within the field. I was the only caregiver / mom / community member. It was a thrill to share about Levi and how the role of pediatric palliative care has allowed him to remain out of the hospital (only twice in 5 years), be cared for at home, experience a meaningful life, and live long past his prognosis. I was completely nervous, even more so when I discovered I would be sitting next to the Senator!

I

Senator Franken was compassionate and attentive as I shared about Levi (tears and all). He even calmly held my hand as I hesitated with tears welling up, talking about some of Levi's most difficut days; the ones that could have been his end of life.

I felt he was surprised to learn that Levi is still with us and how much palliative care has helped him avert ER visits and hospitalization, which are very costly for kids like Levi and costly to the medical systems that support him.

It was encouraging to meet a national-level leader who is genuinely interested in the people and communities he serves.

I am so thankful to the Minnesota Network of Hospice and Palliative Care for this opportunity to advocate for the thousands of families like ours in Minnesota who are in need of palliative care. Together we believe this will become the standard of care for all families.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page