top of page

The Trees Weep with Me


Last week I took a walk in the woods along familiar paths. A place where the content of my walks changed when our friend Isaac passed.

I noticed the details of God’s creation more clearly.

Colors

Smells

Textures

Sounds

Lines

Light

Shadow

Shapes

Movement

Stillness

Juxtaposition

Transformation

I would soak up these details with growing gratitude.

Treasuring what the Lord was allowing me to experience in my spirit through my earthly vessel; Waiting and listening to hear the Lord’s voice; Trusting in his abiding presence.

The juxtaposition of death present among life became startling, revealing, and healing:

A fallen tree leaning upon two vibrantly living trees;

A floor of crunching leaves underfoot, a deciduous green canopy overhead;

Sprouts of new life pressing through the earth where grasses and plants once lived.

There is a particular bend in the path where the Holy Spirit always brings Isaac and his parents to mind. In this place I would pause for wondering.

Wondering

what did Isaac see

that I cannot

because he has

taken up residence

in heaven

Wondering

how his parents

were navigating

these days to

weeks to months

without him

Praying

Weeping

Grieving

Allowing

Questions without answers

On some days I would snap a photo of this place along the path and send it to Isaac’s Mama. Just to let her know I was remembering all of them.

Last week, for the first time since Levi’s passing,

I returned to these trails alone. I had not set out to take this walk, rather it came about as a matter of routine before picking up Younger Brother from preschool. This was one of the few fragments of routine still present in my life.

I was taken aback when I realized where I was, in time and space.

Now the mother

of the departed child

My walking rhythm slowed

leaves crunching underfoot

gradually quieting

Lord. Have. Mercy.

on me

A new layer

spread all over

these woods

The air was cold and crisp

sky blue

trees cathedral overhead

brightly lit by sunlight

My eyes searching

familiar signs

death present

within life

Unfamiliar feelings

death present

within my life

I stood still

dwarfed by towering maples

heart weeping

Into my ears

came a new sound

drip drip drip

drip drip drip

Liquid upon metal

drip drip drip

Maples near and far

had been tapped

metal buckets hanging off of spiles

to catch the sap

drip drip drip

symphonic dripping

near and far

drip drip drip

Sap, clear and thin

weeping in rhythm

with my heart

drip drip drip

Tree to tree

bucket to bucket

I walked, looked

listened

drip drip drip

Every drop

carefully caught

drip drip drip

Weeping maples

weeping mama

a lenten image

a lavish of love

Only the Lord’s Spirit

could catch and hold it all

I have never encountered this moment before.

Even in the two years I have walked among these maples, with seasons of sap collecting. The sap has never flown this freely and been so audible throughout the forest.

Later in the week I joined Younger Brother’s preschool class as they collected this sap and added it to the rolling boil at the sugar shack. Where slowly over time and with heat, the sap is transformed into maple syrup.

By faith and hope in Christ, I trust my weeping will someday be transformed into something as sweet as syrup. ...someday.

Isaiah 43:1-3

But now, this is what the Lord says –

he who created you, Jacob,

he who formed you, Israel:

‘Do not fear, for I have redeemed you;

I have summoned you by name; you are mine.

When you pass through the waters,

I will be with you;

and when you pass through the rivers,

they will not sweep over you.

When you walk through the fire,

you will not be burned;

the flames will not set you ablaze.

For I am the Lord your God,

the Holy One of Israel, your Savior;

Romans 5:1-5

Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we boast in the hope of the glory of God.

Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.

1 Peter 5: 10-11

And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast. To him be the power for ever and ever. Amen.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page