top of page

Ear Tube Surgery: Success


Thank you for your prayers. Levi's ear tube surgery was "textbook." A word we love to hear when it comes to him. Here is a photo of him post-surgery. This 15 minute surgery took:

a full day's effort

5 hours at the hospital

2 doctors

7 nurses / physician's assistants

Levi was very calm and alert before the procedure.

I was able to meet him in the post-operation room (post-op) to be present with him when he awoke. (a first)

With the placement of the tubes in Levi's ears the doctor was also able to remove all of the fluid build-up in Levi's ears. Before the surgery, Levi's hearing was a lot like trying to listen through water. Sound is unclear and muffled. Praise the Lord none of the fluid removed showed signs of infection!

One of the benefits of this surgery is increased hearing. This was evident right away: in both post-op and as he was able to get the anesthesia out of his system (thanks Nkuku). Right away he leaned toward my voice, peeking his eyes open, and waiving both arms wildly!!

My heart leapt at the sight of his exuberance.

Due to Levi's severe brain damage, ANY amount of sedation is a tremendous risk for him. Thankfully this was only the 3rd time Levi needed to be sedated, twice of which were for this 15 minute procedure. This is unprecedentedly so few times for a child like Levi.

For me, the experience of Levi going through surgery is deeply exhausting.

When you sign the consent form, giving the medical team full permission to do any intervention needed, in the event of an emergency, it is a moment that breaks my heart.

PapaShu and I have worked so hard to determine a care plan for Levi that puts his heart, soul, and comfort first. We have made choices daily, in moments big and small, that we didn't know a parent would ever have to face.

To surrender this plan, even for 15 minutes, requires me to come face to face with Levi's mortality.

He could die, today.

He could have a serious breathing event.

He could have major complications due to sedation.

The Levi I release into the hands of the medical team, might not return to me.

Somewhere deep in my soul I hold my breath from the moment I sign the form, to when the doctor returns to report on how the surgery went.

I don't completely exhale till I see Levi's face post-surgery.

Yesterday

9:30am I signed the consent form

10:50am Levi goes off to surgery

11:10am Doctor returns from surgery

11:20am I see Levi's face in post-op

110 minutes in all...

By the time we return home, 5 hours later, I am struck with a complete exhaustion. With all my effort, I climb the stairs, only to crash deep asleep for 2 hours, in spite of Younger Brother's prodding to wake up and play with him.

Even today I noticed I had difficulty focusing and maintaining enough energy for the day's work.

Levi has recovered beautifully. His digestive system has not been negatively impacted by this procedure (always a risk). He has needed supplemental oxygen, which was expected. His hearing is evidently clearer. There is no sign of loss of the developments he experienced as a result of Bootcamp.

Beautifully Textbook!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page